Tuesday, August 3, 2021

Winners Crowned at RMEF World Elk Calling Championships

MISSOULA, Mont. — Call it a changing of the guard at the Rocky Mountain Elk Foundation’s 2021 World Elk Calling Championships (WECC), presented by Sportsman’s Warehouse. RMEF, with the help of its sponsors, doled out more than $50,000 in cash and hunting gear while crowning five new champions in the head-to-head, bracketed format including Cody McCarthy of Nampa, Idaho. McCarthy was the only caller to go undefeated in the professional division.

“I’m very thankful for this opportunity that RMEF put on. I hope me winning can help motivate and encourage more people to come out and participate in the lifestyle and traditions of elk hunting,” said McCarthy.

McCarthy donated $500 of his winnings to the family of Damian Pagano, the 2017 men’s champion who recently and unexpectedly passed away.

Jessi Jacobsen of Donnelly, Idaho, won her first women’s world title, two years after finishing fourth.

“It’s pretty awesome. I didn’t practice a whole lot last time and this time I put in the work and practiced so it just felt good that practice pays off. It’s really exciting and fun,” said Jacobsen.

Tony Gilbertson of Vernonia, Oregon, last competed in the WECC about a decade ago but returned to capture the men’s division title after rallying out of the consolation bracket.

“I was overwhelmed. It was a very gratifying and humbling experience to be a part of that whole competition,” said Gilbertson. “I’m grateful for the Rocky Mountain Elk Foundation and its efforts to conserve wildlife and habitat.”

There are also new world champions in the youth (age 11-17) and pee wee divisions (age 10 and under). Kelton Allman of Santa, Idaho, won the youth title while Hunter Littrell of Peyton, Colorado, captured the pee wee championship.

Below is a list of the top finishers in each division.

Professional Division:

1st Cody McCarthy Nampa, Idaho

2nd Josh Fields Columbia Falls, Montana

3rd Austin Rose Nampa, Idaho

4th Beau Brooks LaCenter, Washington

Men’s Division:

1st Tony Gilbertson Vernonia, Oregon

2nd John Simper Tooele, Utah

3rd Patrick Littrell Peyton, Colorado

4th Kurtis Garvin Rawlins, Wyoming

Women’s Division:

1st Jessi Jacobsen Donnelly, Idaho

2nd Ella Lees LaGrande, Oregon

3rd Audrey McQueen Luna, New Mexico

4th Amy Morris Springville, Utah

Youth Division:

1st Kelton Allman Santa, Idaho

2nd Christopher Fong Middleton, Idaho

3rd Joseph Simper Tooele, Utah

4th Brylie Garvin Elberta, Utah

Pee Wee Division:

1st Hunter Littrell Peyton, Colorado

2nd Jace Wangsgard Eagle Mountain, Utah

3rd Kohen Garvin Elberta, Utah

4th Maxine Littrell Peyton, Colorado

Randy Newberg, an avid elk hunter, strong advocate for public lands and public access issues as well as a RMEF volunteer, life member and former board member, served as emcee.

In addition to presenting sponsor Sportsman’s Warehouse, other WECC sponsors include Browning, Eberlestock, Gerber, HHA Sports, Hoyt Archery, Leupold, Montana Decoy, Nosler, Schnee’s, Swagger and Traeger.

About the Rocky Mountain Elk Foundation:

Founded more than 37 years ago, fueled by hunters and a membership of more than 231,000 strong, RMEF has conserved more than 8.1 million acres for elk and other wildlife. RMEF also works to open and improve public access, fund and advocate for science-based resource management, and ensure the future of America’s hunting heritage. Discover why “Hunting Is Conservation™” at rmef.org or 800-CALL ELK.