Friday May 16, 2017
NASP Names 2017 On Target for Life Award Recipients

The National Archery in the Schools Program Announces the 2017 winners for the On Target for Life Awards and Recognition Program. The OTFLA program is intended to recognize and celebrate the many instances where in-school archery, and the people involved with it, are positively impacting the lives of 2.23 million NASP® student archers each year.

Since its inception in 2002, NASP® has continued to hear powerful examples of how in-school archery has positively impacted the lives of students and adults. The OTFLA program is intended to capture examples of the "best" of what NASP® is doing in 47 states and 11 jurisdictions with both team and individual awards.

In November of 2015, National NASP® leadership and a group of NASP® educators/coaches and students met to discuss ways to further enhance the 16- year-old program. A system of recognitions and awards to capture the many "positives" that go on behind the scenes of NASP® was recommended. As a result, the following awards and recognitions were recognized at the 2017 National NASP® tournament:

The Community Service Award is a team award intended to recognize outstanding service to a community from a NASP® team or class. The 2017 winner was: Chesapeake Elementary School - West Virginia

The Bullseye Award is an individual award for a NASP® Student that has made notable positive strides in academic performance and behavior through their involvement with the program. The 2017 winner was: Jessica York of Shady Spring Middle School - West Virginia

The Superhero Award is an individual award intended to recognize an unpaid volunteer that makes an outstanding positive impact on their NASP® program or team. The 2017 winner was: Danielle Popp of Hartland Consolidated Schools - Michigan

The Courage Award is an individual award for a NASP® student that has overcome a major life event or disability, yet continues to inspire others through their participation in NASP®. The 2017 winner was: Sidney Sandstrom of Riverdale High School - Tennessee

The Outstanding Alumni Award is an individual award for a former NASP® graduate that experienced the positives of NASP®, and now continues to give back to their former school or team. The 2017 winner was: Zachary Tychkowsky of H. A. Kostash School in Alberta, Canada

Coach of the Year Award is an individual award for a NASP® educator/coach. The nominee must have a proven history of making an overwhelming positive difference in the lives of participating NASP® students. The 2017 winner was: Edward "Winston" Long of Madison Central High School - Kentucky

NASP® announced the winners in the lobby at the national tournament, and presented the awards to each recipient at the awards ceremony immediately following the tournament.

For additional information, please contact Dr. Tommy Floyd at:
© Copyright © 2018 The Archery Wire / The Outdoor Wire Digital Network. All Rights Reserved.